I’m stuck with the issue of interpreting the Bible. In seminary I learned Hebrew and Greek so that I could “translate” from the more original text. But translate has little to do with interpret. It seems to me that interpreting involves engaging the text with a particular context. So, when people say to me, “The Bible isn’t relevant to my life, much less this day and age.”  I pretty much have to agree. Any attempt to convince, show interpretation, explain biblical history is bound to blow up.

I’ve been thinking lately that the role of the church is not to interpret the Bible for people, but to interpret Jesus. Jesus was all about love, forgiveness, grace, and the presentness of the kingdom of God. What I’m going to try to do is “read” day to day living. My expectation is to see grace and love lived out. To listen to and engage in active forgiveness. And experience the kingdom of God as truly present. I believe that when Jesus invites us to be his students and followers, he not only invites us to be like him, but to be him in the world. This will take interpretation, passion, patience – you are invited to join me in this practice.

I’d love to hear of your experiences, your God-sightings, the way that you have seen grace, love, forgiveness, and the kingdom being lived out.