By happenstance, I heard a song called “Beautiful things” when running earlier this week. I say happenstance because I was listening to a Pandora station of mine that typically has little to no “Christian” songs. Here are some of the words:

All this pain
I wonder if I’ll ever find my way
I wonder if my life could really change at all
All this earth
Could all that is lost ever be found
Could a garden come up from this ground at all

You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of the dust
You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of us

You make me new, You are making me new
You make me new, You are making me new

I love the words because they remind me of the biblical narrative of how God created humanity – out of dust, and with God’s own breath. Anthropologically I recognize this is not the way humanity came into being, but I like the allegory.

I think that we all need to hear from God, that God makes beautiful things out of us, and that God is making us new. There is hope and promise and love here.

Any thoughts?

