Here’s the overarching generalization (I know it is so don’t crucify me for it): comfort food not only makes us “feel good” but it also makes us like a sloth.

Most of the comfort foods that I readily dive into are carb based. Give me a plate of thin spaghetti, butter and parmesan cheese and I can go into a carb coma. Or a triple helping of mashed potatoes, I become a sloth right at the table (assuming I’m eating there – sometimes I just go to the couch before eating, knowing that I will be asleep soon). Blue Box mac-n-cheese (again don’t hassle me for it), not shared with anyone, but completely consumed = sloth.

God’s Word in Scripture has often been referred to as nourishment or food for our souls. And I believe that many times we (again generally speaking) would rather stick with the comfortable passages and not get to the meat of things.
We like:
John 3:16 “For God so loved the world that he gave his only begotten son, so that everyone who believes in him may not perish but have eternal life.”
Psalm 23 “The Lord is my shepherd…”
1 Corinthians 13 “The greatest of these is love.”
There is absolutely nothing wrong with these passages in Scripture, but when we only “consume” them in our spiritual lives, we get lazy in our path with Jesus. When we, often as a group, struggle with difficult passages in Scripture it’s like eating a healthy, balanced diet that keeps us strong and growing in our faith.

For comments I’d really like to hear about passages in Scripture that you have had struggles with, or are currently struggling with, the feelings you have from the Scriptures, and what it means for you to lead a healthy, balanced spiritual life without falling into the easiness of “comfort food” and “slothfulness.”

